8th BGCE Student Paper Prize

At the 2021 SIAM CS&E Conference, March 1-5, 2021, in virtual format, the 8th BGCE Student Paper Prize will be awarded for outstanding student work in the field of Computational Science and Engineering. The conference will allow for virtual/online contributions, see details. The eight finalists will present their work in minisymposia 6 and 96 on March 1 and 2, 2021.

The Prize

Founder of the prize is the Bavarian Graduate School of Computational Engineering (BGCE), a consortium offering an honors track to the best students of three international Master’s programs in Computational Engineering at Technische Universität München (TUM) and Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).

The prize winner will be invited to spend one week (air fare, accomodation, and local expenses covered) in Bavaria, visiting FAU and TUM and getting in contact with BGCE’s educational and research program, one of the most advanced ones in Europe. The main objective is to promote excellent students in CS&E and to foster international exchange at an early career stage. Eligible for the prize will be undergraduate and graduate students prior to receiving their PhD (at date of submission).


Candidates are required to summarize their work in a short paper of at most 4 pages. The prize finalists will be asked to present their work at SIAM CS&E 2021 with a talk to be given in a special “CS&E Student Prize Minisymposium”. The papers and talks will be evaluated by an international prize committee. Excluded from the competition are only students from our own universities, FAU and TUM.

Deadline for submissions to the BGCE Student Paper Prize is December 6, 2020. Submissions should be sent in pdf format via email to

Since we are interested in a broad and high-level competition, as we had it in 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019, we ask you to encourage suitable candidates in your group or department to submit a paper and to support their participation in SIAM CS&E 2021.

Previous Prizes

The history of the BGCE Student Paper Prize winners